Ohio Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches

OATCCC Hall of Fame

Ed Barker Award Recipiants

Richard Cooley (Ed Barker Award - 1986)
Richard Cooley

Coached track and cross country at Amherst Steele High School from 1957 through 1982 where he won many championships and coached outstanding individuals. Is a noted official. Served as coach of the Ohio team at the Midwest Meet of Champions.

Bob Fowle (1986)
Bob Fowle

Coached track at Columbus Rosary in 1946 and 1947, at Alexandria in 1948, at Summit Station in 1949, 1950, and 1951, at New Lexington St. Alyosius from 1952 through 1961, at Columbus Ready in 1962, at Zanesville Rosecrans from 1963 through 1966, and at Columbus Wehrle from 1967 through 1985. Coached cross country at Rosecrans in 1964, 1965, and 1966; and at Wehrle from 1966 through 1984. Won four state track meets and two runnersup at Wehrle. Won two conference track and one conference cross country meet. Won four track district/regional meets. Coached 18 individual state track meet winners. Founded and managed the New Lexington Relays. OAT&CCC 1984 Boys Track Coach of the Year.

Vern Hawkins (1986)
Vern Hawkins

Has coached track at Georgetown High School from 1961 to the present and cross country at Georgetown from 1960 to the present. Won one state high school cross country meet and was runnerup three times. Was runnerup in one state high school track meet. Won 14 conference and two district cross country meets. Won 15 conference track meets. Coached five individual state high school track champions state high school cross country winner. Won 225 dual/tri track meets and 175 dual/tri cross country meets. Successful high school runner.

Kathryn "Katie" Horstman (1986)
Kathryn Horstman

Has coached track at Minster High School since 1973 and cross country since 1981 to the present. Her teams have won seven state high school track meets and have been runnerup four times. Has won one state high school cross country championship. Has won all 12 track and five cross countrty conference meets. Has won 11 track and two cross country district/regionals. Coached 29 individual state high school track meet champions. OAT&CCC 1981 Girls Track Coach of the Year.

Beverly Martin (1986)
Beverly Martin

Coached track at Toledo Rogers from 1973 through 1984 and 1986 to the present. Won one state high school track meet and runner up once. Won six conference and five district/regional track meets. Coached 13 individual state high school track meet winners.

Bob Mucha (1986)
Bob Mucha

Coached boys and girls track at Middletoown from 1971 through 1983. Coached cross country from 1970 through 1972. Was runnerup in the 1980 state high school track meet. Won four district/regional track meets. Won five conference track and two conference cross country meets. Coached eight individual state high school track champions.

Milan Tiff (1986)
Milan Tiff

Jumped for Shaker Heights High School, Miami University, and UCLA. Won one indoor national AAU triple jump and scored in six others. Won two NCAA triple jumps- one indoor and one outdoor, and scored in four other. Competed on the U.S. national team at the first World Cup in 1977. Won one PAC 8 Conference event. Set, and still holds, the Ohio high school state triple jump record in winning the Golden West national high school meet. Set three Ohio college indoor triple jump records.

Listing of HoF
Members by Name