Ohio Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches

OATCCC Hall of Fame

Ed Barker Award Recipiants

William "Buzz" Seilhamer (Ed Barker Award - 1997)
William Seilhamer

Buzz has been the boys' track coach at Beavercreek High School from 1970 to the present. He has been the girls' track coach from 1988 to the present. His boys' teams have won five conference meets. Buzz has helped set up the state cross country meet, has served as District Representative on the OAT&CCC Executive Board, has made the clinic packets for the Annual Track & Field Clinic, and has been responsible for the audio/visual equipment at the Clinic.

Laron Brown (1997)
Laron Brown

Laron Brown ran track at Roth HS under Coach Randy Waggoner from 1980-82. He specialized in the 100 (10.77), 200 (21.1) and 400 (46.7). Laron placed first in the state in the 400, 200, and 4 x 400 meter relay. He ran on nine state record relays. His 200 and 400 times place 2nd on the all-time Ohio list. Brown attended the University of Tennesee where ran the 400 in 44.92.

James Emery (1997)
James Emery

Beginning his coaching career in 1966, Mr. Emery has coached at John F. Kennedy HS, East Tech HS, and at Beaumont HS. He has been the mentor for such outstanding runners as Ray Marks, Ricky Pittman, Katy Radkwich, Calvin Washington, Brendan Walton, Reggie Reid, Aki Bradley, Marisa Posch, and many others. Mr. Emery has coached athletes to 7 state meet records. At Beaumont, his teams have won state meets in track (4) and cross-country (3). His 1995 cross country team set a record for lowest score (34) of any team in any division in the Ohio State Meet. In track Emery has coached 49 state champions (including relay members), 84 state meet qualifiers, and 57 All-Ohioans. His athletes have scored 371 points during his 21 years as a head coach.

Jason Lindsey (1997)
Jason Lindsey

Coaching since 1978, Jason Lindsey's cross country teams won the state meet in 1983 (boys) and 1984 (girls). His teams have placed in the top 8 at the state meet eleven times (boys, 3; girls, 8) and have won 24 league championships (12 each for the boys and girls). In district competition, the boys have won 6 and placed second five times. The girls have won 5 and placed second six times. His teams have won many invitationals including the Lakota Fall Classic, Tiffin Carnival, Worthington, Cloverleaf, Anderson, Forest Park, and others. In girls' track, Lindsey has guided 18 all-ohioans for the girls and 8 for the boys. His teams have won their league 6 times and been runnersup 10 times. Jason has coached many outstanding individuals such as Theresa Hawkins in the shot and discus, Jim Hendrick in middle distance running, and Heather Schroeder and Brian Hill in cross-country. Lindsey has served as district representative to the Ohio Association of Track and Cross-Country Coaches Executive Board for 13 years. He has also served as the Mid-East Coach for cross-country.

Ron Martin (1997)
Ron Martin

Ron Martin has coached track and cross-country for twenty years at Caldwell, Tiffin, and Seneca East. He has coached seven cross-country state champions including Brian Jonard, Tony Carna, Alan Boos, and Vincent Fries. His cross-country coaching record is 2198 - 315. Ron's teams were league champs 14 of 17 years, and district champs 13 times. 23 runners have earned All-Ohio honors and 3 have earned All-America honors. His cross-country teams have won many invitationals including Malone, Tiffin, and the Coaches' Classic. In track, Martin has coached 15 All-Ohioans, 5 state champions, and 5 All-Americans. Tony Carna won the 5000 in the national championships. Ron has served as the college liason, Mid-East coach, district representative for the coaches association.

Listing of HoF
Members by Name