Ohio Association of Track and Cross Country Coaches

OATCCC Hall of Fame

Ed Barker Award Recipiants

Craig Whitmore (Ed Barker Award - 1999)
Craig Whitmore

Originally from Shadyside, Craig Whitmore was a track and field coach for 16 years and a cross country coach for 14 years. He has been a registered OHSAA official for 38 years. Craig has served as the OAT&CCC Historian for 15 years. Everyone interested in Ohio track & field and cross country owes a debt of gratitude to Craig for his many hours of research and record keeping of historical information about all aspects of our sport. Many forgotten individuals and performances have been brought to light through Craig's devoted investigations. Craig travels throughout the state and around the country to over 70 meets per year. He annually officiates at many local and tournament competitions. He has written the official history of the OAT&CCC, continuing annual updates. He has been referred to as Ohio's "walking encyclopedia" of track & field and cross country.

Warren "Pete" Anson (1999)
Warren Anson

Warren Anson high jumped and long jumped for Prospect High School and Ohio State University. At the state meet, he won the high jump three times and the long jump twice. In the high jump, he set one state high school record, and set four Ohio collegiate records. He won four Big Ten events and scored in the NCAA and National AAU Meets.

Anthony Buttar (1999)
Anthony Buttar

Tony Buttar has been the boys' track and field coach at Warren Kennedy High School from 1965 to the present. His teams won six district/regional meets and his athletes have won nine events at the state track meet. His team was runnerup in the state meet once. He was named the boys track and field state honored coach of the year in 1993. He is a registered OHSAA track & field official.

Richard Elsasser (1999)
Richard Elsasser

Richard Elsasser was the boys' track and field coach at Elyria Catholic High School from 1968-1975 and the boys' cross country coach from 1971-1976, and 1978-1984. He also served as the girls' cross country coach from 1982-1984. Richard was the mens' and womens' cross country coach at Baldwin Wallace College from 1985-1990. Richard has been the boys' and girls' track and field coach at Amherst Steele High School from 1990 - the present, and was the boys' cross country coach from 1994-1996. His cross country teams won three state championships, four district/regional championships, and fifteen conference championships. Richard won the state meet mile twice while in high school at Marion Catholic. He coached one athlete to a state meet title.

Kenneth Kilpatrick (1999)
Kenneth Kilpatrick

Kenneth Kilpatrick was the boys track and field coach at Leavittsburg High School in 1969-1970; Leavittsburg LaBrae High School, 1971-1978, 1981-1991, and 1993-1997. His track teams won one state championship and six conference championships. His athletes won eighteen events in the state meet. Kenneth also coached the boys' cross country team from 1964-1975.

Gary Smith (1999)
Gary Smith

Gary Smith began coaching at the middle school level in 1969. He went on to coach both boys and/or girls cross-country until 1990 and as both assistant and later boys'head track coach until 1996. In cross-country, his teams were league champions or runnersup for boys, 12 consecutive years and girls, 13 of 14 years. They were district champions 20 times and state champions twice (girls, 1989 and 1992). Gary won many coaching awards including State Cross-Country Coach of the Year (1993), Award for Sportsmanship and Ethics (1996), and District Coach of the Year 16 times (8 boys, 8 girls). Mr. Smith developed many outstanding runners including 800m All-American Laura McKinley, Alyson Butterfield, Kristin Gaddis, Brett Sanborn, Brian O'Neill, Paul Linder, and Len Kemp. Gary's 4 x 1600m team broke the state record in 1992. Gary was considered by other coaches to be "one of the most successful coaches in the central district."

Dorothy Stoltz (1999)
Dorothy Stoltz

Dorothy Stoltz has been the girls' track and field coach at Eaton High School from 1966 - the present. Her teams have won nine conference championships and have been exceptionally competitive throughout her career.

Listing of HoF
Members by Name